Adult Fiction

A novel about Mary Shelley, the woman who wrote Frankenstein…

The year is 1839, and Mary Shelley – the woman who wrote Frankenstein – is living alone in a tiny cottage on the banks of the river Thames in Putney. As she sorts through the snowstorm of her husband’s scattered papers she is reminded of their past: the half-ruined villas in Italy, the stormy relationship with Shelley and her stepsister Claire, the loss of her children, the attempted kidnapping of Claire’s daughter Allegra from a prison-like convent in Florence. And finally, her husband’s drowning on the Gulf of Spezia as they stayed in a grim-looking fortress overlooking the sea. What she has never confided in anyone is that she has always been haunted by Shelley’s drowned first wife, Harriet, who would come to visit her in the night as she slept with her two tiny children in a vast abandoned villa while Shelley was away litigating with lawyers. Did Mary pay the ultimate price for loving Shelley? Who will Harriet come for next?

Buy Arguing With The Dead at Waterstones / Buy Arguing With The Dead at Amazon

ISBN-10: 1912280264 / ISBN-13: 978-1912280261

A woman in a man’s world, up against the odds.

The year is 1586, and Mary Stuart is sitting in an English prison cell at the end of her life, stitching her tapestries, haunted by the ghosts of her past. Only Mary can tell the true version of events. As her needle weaves in and out of the fine linen, she plots for Elizabeth’s downfall. The corridors of power, conspiracy and intrigue, factionalism and religious division. A woman in a man’s world, up against the odds.

Buy For My Sins at Waterstones / Buy For My Sins at Amazon

ISBN-10: 1905916787 / ISBN-13: 978-1905916788