JACOBITES: GHOSTS OF THE PAST

DSCF3826DSCF3831DSCF3881DSCF3893

I have loved going along to the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh and delivering these workshops. Thanks to all of the primary schools who came along and took part, and thanks also to the Moray House students – teachers of the future! I hope you found some of the material inspirational.

The pupils were great – I loved listening to their stories and showing them how to use the quill pens, just like Catherine Morton would have done when she wrote her journal in 1708! Together we made our own historical fragments and explored the exhibition next door. What amazed me was how clean and tidy the pupils were, while I had ink all the way up to my elbows, even when I wasn’t using the quill pen! I found there were a lot of very dextrous and artistic pupils – even if they weren’t aware of it themselves.

Here are some pictures of what we did.

Leave a Reply

